History Vindicative

Cat 623

The time shall come when history

Will vindicate my life, and see

My future path is future’s past.

When things are understood at last.

If I had known, in coming years,

What would have brought me joy or tears,

What poisons I would taste, and how

Much worse off I would be than now

If I could, would I take more heed?

Dare shift a thought? Undo a deed?

Would changing grant the future I

Would like to have, before I die?

For every choice, one changes path.

And no one knows the aftermath.

What kind of choices can one make

To claim a path with no heart break?

Yet if I do, and find no strife

Might I lack color in my life?

It’s safe, it’s straight, it’s problem-free

But would it bring me ecstasy?

Finding answers takes forever

I’m not so patient nor so clever.

I’ll just live, and let history

Vindicate my own life, for me

Leave a Reply

